Celiac Disease: Gluten Free Diet (cont.)
Betty Kovacs, MS, RD
Betty is a Registered Dietitian who earned her B.S. degree in Food and Nutrition from Marymount College of Fordham University and her M.S. degree in Clinical Nutrition from New York University. She is the Co-Director and Director of nutrition for the New York Obesity Research Center Weight Loss Program.
William C. Shiel Jr., MD, FACP, FACR
Dr. Shiel received a Bachelor of Science degree with honors from the University of Notre Dame. There he was involved in research in radiation biology and received the Huisking Scholarship. After graduating from St. Louis University School of Medicine, he completed his Internal Medicine residency and Rheumatology fellowship at the University of California, Irvine. He is board-certified in Internal Medicine and Rheumatology.
In this Article
- What is a gluten-free diet?
- Who needs to follow a gluten-free diet?
- Celiac disease
- Dermatitis herpetiformis
- Gluten ataxia
- Wheat allergy
- Non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS)
- Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)
- What are the difficulties with following a gluten-free diet?
- What foods do you avoid on a gluten-free diet?
- Foods that are unsafe to eat
- What foods can you consume on a gluten-free diet?
- Foods that are safe to eat
- What are resources for a gluten-free diet?
- Celiac Disease (Celiac Sprue) FAQs
What foods can you consume on a gluten-free diet?
The greatest difficulty with following a gluten-free diet used to be the limited availability of foods that do not contain gluten. This is no longer the case. There are many more options than ever and it appears that this will continue to grow as more people are finding relief from health issues with following a gluten-free diet.
Foods that are safe to eat
- Bread made from rice flour or potato flour
- Distilled vinegars
- Garbanzo beans (chickpeas)
- Grits (corn or soy)
- Job's tears
- Nut flours
- Rapeseed oil
The other foods that you are able to eat with a gluten-free diet are:
- Meats (these are your high protein options)
- Plan meat, poultry, fish, shellfish, and eggs
- Dry peas and beans, nuts, peanut butter, and soybeans
- Fruit juice
- Fresh, frozen, and canned vegetables
- Milk Plain yogurt
- Cottage cheese
- Pure instant or ground coffee
- Carbonated beverages
- Beer made with buckwheat, sorghum, rice, or corn
- Alcohol – brandy, champagne, gin, run, tequila, vodka, wine
- Vegetable oils
There is a way to convert recipes that contain gluten into gluten-free recipes. You will need to experiment with the ingredient substitution, length of time, and temperature used for baking. Here are some substitutions that you can make in your recipes:
For 1 tablespoon of wheat flour, substitute one of these:
- 1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
- 1 1/2 teaspoons potato starch
- 1 1/2 teaspoons arrowroot starch
- 1 1/2 teaspoons rice flour
- 2 teaspoons quick-cooking tapioca
For 1 cup of wheat flour, substitute one of these:
- 3/4 cup plain cornmeal, coarse
- 1 cup plain cornmeal, fine
- 5/8 cup potato flour
- 3/4 cup rice flour
You are going to need time, patience, persistence, and support with making these changes. These changes can affect you and everyone in your life, but it will get easier as you all get used to it. You are not alone in this so reach out to those who know what you are going through. The important thing to remember is that your body needs this diet to function correctly and for you to feel well and live symptom free.
Viewers share their comments
Find out what women really need.